NASA’s Parker Solar investigate creates record for closest approach to Sun

On Monday, US Space Agency announced that NASA’s Parker Solar investigation that was unveiled earlier this year is ready to set a new record for closets human-made object to the Sun.

A NASA statement reads that “the spacecraft passed the current record of 26.55 million miles (42.73 million kilometers) from the Sun’s surface on Oct. 29, 2018, at about 1:04 pm EDT (1704 GMT).”

It continued that “the previous record for the closest solar approach was set by the German-American Helios 2 spacecraft in April 1976.”

$1.5 billion (estimated roughly at Rs. 11,000 crores) unnamed spacecraft was unveiled in August, for a strategic mission to protect Earth by introducing the mystery of dangerous solar storms.

The aim of the launch was to ensure a series of 24 flybys past by the scorching star.

Another record is also set for the NASA’s Parker Solar Probe.

NASA said that the spaceship is “expected to break the record for fastest spacecraft travelling relative to the Sun on October 29 at about 10:54 pm EDT (Tuesday 0254 GMT.”

It continued that “the current record for heliocentric speed is 153,454 miles (246,960 kilometers) per hour, set by Helios 2 in April 1976.”

However, the first close encounter of Parker with the Sun was scheduled for 31st October.

In its final closest approach, which came just 3.83 million miles from the surface of the Sun- is likely in 2024, reports NASA.

by Chandrani Sarkar on October 30, 2018

Related Articles